Sixteen Navy Members honoured with Australia Day Awards

Published on SBLT Bianca Wise (author), LSIS Paul McCallum (photographer)

Topic(s): Australia Day Honours

File image: The Royal Australian Navy Band Melbourne Detachment leads the honour guard, and people march down Swanston Street in Melbourne. (photo: LSIS Paul McCallum)
File image: The Royal Australian Navy Band Melbourne Detachment leads the honour guard, and people march down Swanston Street in Melbourne.

The Governor-General, Her Excellency, the Honourable Quentin Bryce AC CVO, today announced the recipients of the Australia Day Awards with 16 Navy members earning recognition on the 2014 Honours List.

The Australian Government uses the Honours List to help define, encourage and reinforce national aspirations, ideals and standards by identifying role models.

Today provided an opportunity to honour those who have given a meritorious, outstanding and distinguished performance through their service in the Royal Australian Navy.

Honours are given to recognise, celebrate and say thank you to those who make a difference, those who achieve their best and those who serve others.

Having personnel included in the Honours List is a reinforcement of the level of professionalism and capability within our sea going service.

Ranging from the rank of Leading Seaman to Rear Admiral, all 16 members have been recognised for their exceptional achievements and commitment to duty.

2014 Australia Day Honours

RADM Trevor Jones AO – For distinguished service as Head Naval People and Reputation and Deputy Chief of Navy.
CMDR John Stavridis CDS - For distinguished performance of duty in warlike operations as Commanding Officer HMAS Anzac on Operation SLIPPER from June 2012 to January 2013.
CMDR Jan Elizabeth Noonan CSC Bar to CSC - For outstanding achievement as Deputy Director Navy Category Management (Warfare).
LCDR Richard John Foster CSC -  For outstanding achievement as Project Officer at Training Authority - Aviation and the development of the Aviation Support Category training package.
CMDR Lawrence Harry Stubbs CSC - For outstanding devotion to duty as Project Manager Fleet Regulatory Review Implementation Team in Fleet Command.
PO Philip Eric Andrew CSM -  For meritorious achievement as supervisor of the Circuit Card Assembly Test and Repair Facility - Fleet Support Unit West, and as an Electronics Technician in the rectification of defects on Collins Class Submarines and Surface Ships.
PO Mitch Ryan Atkins CSM - For meritorious achievement as Marine Technician Instructor at the Training Unit, ANZAC Ship Support Centre; developing the computer-based ANZAC Class Frigate Platform Training System for training ANZAC Class Marine Technicians.
CPO James David Bishop CSM - For meritorious devotion to duty as Senior Technical Officer in ASSAIL SIX.
LS Lauren Elizabeth King CSM - For meritorious achievement as a Recruit School Instructor in HMAS Cerberus.
WO Shannon Leigh Locke CSM - For meritorious devotion to duty as Hydrographic Surveying Category Manager at the Directorate of Navy Category Management, Director General Navy People.
CMDR Michael Samuel Oborn CSM - For meritorious achievement as the Executive Officer, HMAS Cerberus.
CPO Steven David Paterson CSM - For meritorious devotion to duty as Chief Petty Officer Marine Technician in charge of propulsion systems in HMAS Warramunga while it was assigned to the Training Task Group.
CAPT Michael James Rothwell AM - For exceptional performance of duty as Director Information, Communication and  Technology Capability Coordination in the Chief Information Officer Group, and as Amphibious and Afloat Support Group Capability Manager.
CDRE Andrew John Smith AM - For exceptional service as a senior logistics officer in Navy, Joint Operations Command, United States Joint Staff and the Defence Materiel Organisation, between 2002 and 2012.
CPO Raymond John Beasy CSM OAM -  For meritorious service in the field of Naval Gunnery and Seamanship.
CMDR Lewis Patrick Gaha OAM - For meritorious service as the Navy Reserve Career Manager, Elections Liaison Officer for the United Nations Assistance Mission in Iraq, Director of Navy Ministerial Coordination, and Director of Navy Reputation Management.

– Officer in the Order of Australia

CDS – Commendation for Distinguished Service

Bar to CSC – Bar to the Conspicuous Service Cross

CSC – Conspicuous Service Cross

CSM – Conspicuous Service Medal

AM – Member in the Military Division of the Order of Australia

OAM – Medal in the Military Division of the Order of Australia

Full list available at

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them now at