Dawn breaks on Navy commemorations

This article has photo gallery Published on LCDR Peter Croce (author), LSIS Brenton Freind (photographer)

Members of HMAS Newcastle's crew retire the Australian White Ensign as they perform the traditional Ceremonial Sunset. (photo: Leading Seaman Imagery Specialist Brenton Freind)
Members of HMAS Newcastle's crew retire the Australian White Ensign as they perform the traditional Ceremonial Sunset.

More than 1,000 Navy personnel were deployed at sea this morning as the first bugle calls cracked the solemn silence at dawn services across Australia.
At least seven ships and patrol boats will conduct their services across the globe today from the Middle East on Operation MANITOU, on exercise in south-east Asia, border protection operations and regular Navy training at sea. 
Apart from those on around-the-clock operations at sea, Navy will also contribute 105 Senior representatives to Anzac Day activities across regional Australia as part of an ongoing initiative to contribute to national commemorations. 
For those looking to the skies today, Navy's 723 Squadron will conduct flypasts in Bell 429 helicopters at Kiama (10am), Batemans Bay (10.36am), Moruya (10.43am), Tuross Head (10.48am), Narooma (10.53am), Bermagui (11am), Bega (11.10am) and Merimbula (11.18am). 
Two AS350B Squirrels will also conduct flyovers at Jindabyne (9.50am) and Berridale (11am).
The Royal Australian Navy's Imagery specialists will also be working hard all day to showcase Anzac Day commemorations across Australia and you can keep across all the activities by logging on to the Royal Australian Navy page on Facebook or instagram, @Australian_Navy on Twitter and here on Navy Daily. 
A special feature gallery of the 'Faces of Anzac Day 2016' on Facebook will contain imagery from national commemorations where Navy personnel, veterans and family members are participating. 
As well as representation in areas where Navy has a base or presence, senior Navy officers will be present at the dawn service, deliver the key address and participate in other civic activities at: 

NEW SOUTH WALES Albury, Auburn, Avalon, Beach, Ballina, Batemans, Bay, Bathurst, Bowral, Bungendore, Braidwood, Broken, Hill, Captains, Flat, Castle, Hill, Cessnock, Cobar, Coonabarabran, Cootamundra, Cowra, Crookwell, Culburra, Dubbo, Eden, Gerringong, Gosford, Goulburn, Gundagai, Harden, Holbrook, Huskisson, Junee, Kangaroo, Valley, Katoomba, Lithgow, Macksville, Maitland, Miranda, Moree, Mudgee, Murrumbateman, Muswellbrook, Nelson Bay, Newcastle, North Bondi, Nowra, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Parramatta, Penrith, Queanbeyan, South West,Rocks, Sydney, The Entrance, Toukley, Tumut, Ulladulla, Wagga Wagga, Wollongong, Yass, Young

QUEENSLAND: Brisbane Grammar School, Brisbane, Buderim, Cairns, Caloundra, Charters, Towers, Kingaroy, Nerang, Stanthorpe, Toowoomba

SOUTH AUSTRALIA: Adelaide, Lenswood, Mount Gambier, Port Adelaide/Semaphore, Port Pirie, Renmark, Whyalla. 

TASMANIA: Beaconsfield, Burnie, Deloraine, Devonport, Hobart, Latrobe, Launceston. 

VICTORIA: Bairnsdale, Ballarat, Echuca, and, Moama, Frankston, Geelong, Lakes, Entrance, Maryborough, Melbourne, Queenscliff/Point, Lonsdale, Sale, Torquay, Violet, Town, Warrnambool.

WESTERN AUSTRALIA: Albany, Busselton, Fremantle, Perth, Port, Hedland, Victoria, Park.


More images available at Anzac Day 2016 gallery: http://images.defence.gov.au/fotoweb/archives/5018-Anzac%20Day%202016/